Categories
Uncategorized

Rishikesh, India: Untold stories: Part#2

Continued…

A few hours pass by at the hidden pond, the sun seems to be calling it a day, time for me to make a move as the windy roads become my pathway and the moon my companion.

Before that, a good swim makes the palate crave.

A roadside makeshift restaurant (Dhaba in Hindi) stands testimonial to the waterfall. This owner, has become a fair acquaintance. I am thinking in my head โ€œWhat if I ask/ request him to allow the dormant chef in me to come alive through the simple yet amazing Maggi noodles, sautรฉed with butter & chopped green chilly.

DSC_9111.JPG

And guess what, the silly kid in me had to blurt out the words the moment I saw him, โ€œUncle, can I please cook Maggi today?โ€ He smiles at me with a radiant smile, the smile that sparkles the eyes โ€œSure betaโ€ (English: My child).

Alright then, letโ€™s get to task; I see onions, tomatoes, green chilly; cut, dice, julienne; searing butter in the pan, in go all the ingredients. Aroma. Itโ€™s time for the Maggi to weave its magic, my taste buds salivating.

Stomach full and good vibes abound, I start towards Freedom cafรฉ near Laxman Jhula, will meet a few friends there; heard thereโ€™s a jembe jam session tonight.

DSC_9733.JPG

I am here, ordering my staple drink โ€œGinger Lemon Honey teaโ€; nothing can go wrong with this one. A group of foreigners are sitting, I go and join them, and music is underway. A beautiful medley ensues, captivating our senses and mind.

DSC_9149.JPG

I am standing by the French windows, looking out at the Ganges, the moon lighting it up. Itโ€™s unreal and so beautiful, simple things in life can give you so much pleasure and untainted memories.

DSC_9785.JPG

A couple of hours later, my ever-present sleep instinct seems to be taking over, and I decide to walk back to my abode at Parmarth Ashram near Ram Jhula.(Rooms here range from about INR 500 per person and you also get very basic meals; breakfast, lunch & dinner at specific hours)

In my room, ready to get snug in the bed, with a book.

I absolutely love how old pages have an uncanny fragrance in them. I am a big fan of how technology has changed our world; still, no screen will ever surpass the joy of shuffling through pages, worn old by age yet so alive.

DSC_9291.JPG

Goodnight all of you lovely souls, who took out the time to read and experience my first wanderlust post interspersed with photographic memories, of the lens and the soul. I will be around to share more, love more.

Experimenting with different colours and making my own rainbow.

India, Planet Earth.

By traveljuggler

Not a full-time traveler, not a always-solo traveler. Constantly juggling life between the city, the job and the unknown for surprises, learnings and new perspectives to love life, live life! Happy exploring :)
Current address: India
Permanent address: Unknown

24 replies on “Rishikesh, India: Untold stories: Part#2”

Beautifully written and amazing pictures that makes one nostalgic of days past. The post reminds me of Ruskin Bond’s romanticism of Dehra, though still a long way to go. Keep up the good work.

Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment